First DUI Offense in Virginia

The first time that you’re charged with DUI or DWI can be quite a frightening experience. You might not know what to expect for a first-time DUI offense, and the situation can quickly become overwhelming. In addition, while the penalties for a first-time offender tend to be considerably lighter than those of a subsequent offender, they are still quite serious. For this reason, you want to seek the help of a qualified and experienced first time DUI attorney in Virginia who can offer you a free case analysis and protect your interests in court.

Related Virginia DUI Content:

first time dui attorney virginia

First-Time DUI Charges Are Serious

A DUI is a serious charge that could have grave consequences in your life, regardless of whether you intend to drive while intoxicated or not. The first DUI charge will not be as severe as the subsequent DUI charges, though you will still need the help of a Virginia first time DUI  lawyer to fight the charge and penalties, handle the necessary paperwork, file the proper documents, and defend your case in court.

If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in Virginia, an experienced Virginia DUI lawyer might be able to help protect your rights and navigate the legal process. Bississo Law knows the local criminal justice system all too well and is aware of what to expect in a DUI/DWI offense in Virginia. We understand the law and have experience dealing with courtroom players. As a result, we have successfully defended citizens against DUI charges in various counties all over Virginia.

Virginia Code 18.2-266 makes it illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08 or higher. The code also makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs alcohol, or a combination of both.

Don’t Panic; Contact a First Time DUI Attorney in Virginia

If you’re facing a first-time DUI charge in Virginia, you don’t have to panic; you want to trust your choice of lawyer. In addition, you want to be sure that your best interests are being looked after by someone who cares about the outcome of your case.

First-Time DUI Penalties

In case you’re found guilty of a first DUI in Virginia, the penalties are already set by statute:

  • Fines not exceeding $2,500
  • Jail sentence of up to one year
  • Mandatory driver’s license suspension for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol education classes
  • Mandatory jail time if your blood alcohol levels exceed 0.15
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • In some cases, there will be an ignition interlock requirement.

These are just some of the administrative and legal consequences of a first-time DUI offense. You may also experience higher stress levels in your personal and professional lives. Remember that you could even lose your job over a DUI charge.

Working with an experienced DUI attorney in Virginia means you can expect to achieve the best outcome based on your circumstances and minimize the stress and anguish you experience. Your lawyer will be your advocate in court and work to represent your best interests.

Underage DUI

A DUI charge is challenging enough by itself. However, DUI charges while under the age of 21 in Virginia carry their own set of legal consequences. Virginia Code 18.2-266.1 states that any driver under 21 years of age with a BAC of more than 0.02 can be charged with DUI as it is assumed that they have consumed alcohol illegally. A DUI charge for such drivers is a class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by fines of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. The driver will also lose their license for up to a year and might be required to complete 50 hours of community service.

How to Find a Virginia First Time DUI Lawyer

If you’ve been charged with your first DUI in Virginia, you should look no further than the Bississo Law Firm. We have extensive experience in Virginia DUI case law. This way, you can be sure they can step up and help you navigate the process to get back on the road.